Nos sponsors

2021 Winners!

A propos des Trophées African Banker

Événement phare de l’année pour les banques africaines, les Trophées African Banker ont lieu lors des assemblées générales de la Banque africaine de développement. Organisés par le magazine African Banker et IC Events en coopération avec BusinessinAfrica Events, les Trophées African Banker récompensent l’excellence et les succès des banques en Afrique.

Les Trophées African Banker réunissent les leaders africains et internationaux pour distinguer les banquiers et les financiers qui réussissent, créent des opportunités économiques pour les Africains et inspirent les nouvelles générations de banquiers qui contribuent à façonner l’avenir du continent.

Quand?


25 mai 2022

Où?


Kempinski, Accra Ghana

Les catégories

Nos Trophées récompensent les institutions financières et les personnalités qui contribuent à la transformation et au développement du secteur de la banque en Afrique. Nous réexaminons la liste des catégories chaque année afin de nous assurer que les Trophées demeurent pertinents et tiennent compte des nouvelles réalités. 

Cette année encore, le Jury mettra l'accent sur les Cinq priorités de la Banque africaine de développement (BAD) et accordera une grande attention aux critères tels que le genre, l'égalité des chances pour les femmes, l'inclusion financière, l'accès au crédit, l'autonomisation des femmes, les prêts aux femmes entrepreneures.

Banque africaine de l'année

Ce Trophée est décerné à la banque qui réalise une performance élevée selon différents critères. Elle aura considérablement changé le paysage bancaire en gagnant de nouveaux clients, en offrant de nouveaux services, en adoptant l'inclusivité en pospectant les personnes non bancarisées, en utilisant les nouvelles technologies et en aidant à stimuler la croissance grâce à un secteur financier plus fort.

Banquier africain de l'année

Grâce à son leadership et à sa vision, le gagnant aura réalisé une solide performance financière et aura guidé avec succès son institution vers de nouveaux sommets dans la banque.

IFD de l'année

Ce Trophée est décerné à l'institution financière de développement qui a connu une performance inégalée selon des critères à la fois qualitatifs et quantitatifs.

Elle aura également considérablement modifié le paysage du financement du développement en investissant dans des projets importants et en contribuant au développement économique durable du continent.

Meilleure banque régionale (Afrique du Nord, Sud, Ouest, Est et Centre)

Ce Trophée est décerné à une banque opérant soit dans un pays , soit dans une région (Afrique du Nord, de l'Est, du Sud, de l'Ouest ou du Centre). La banque aura excellé en gagnant de nouveaux clients, en offrant de nouveaux services, en adoptant l'inclusivité en prospectant les non bancarisés, en utilisant les nouvelles technologies et en contribuant à renforcer le secteur financier.

Deals de l'année - Infrastructure

Ce Trophée récompensera le deal qui a eu l'impact le plus significatif. Le Comité prendra en considération la complexité du deal, sa taille, sa structure et le rôle révolutionnaire qu’il a pu jouer . Le deal peut servir de modèle pour de futures transactions et met en évidence de nouvelles possibilités et solutions dans le secteur.

Deals de l'année - Dette

Le deal gagnant aura fourni un modèle pour des transactions futures , mis en évidence de nouvelles opportunités et des profils d'investissement sectoriels ou régionaux, et adopté d'autre innovation dans le financement de la dette en Afrique.

Deals de l'année - Equity

Le deal gagnant aura mis en évidence de nouvelles opportunités et des profils d'investissement sectoriels ou régionaux. Les juges examineront la taille, la complexité et l'impact en termes de changement de perception de l'Afrique en tant qu'endroit où faire des affaires.

FinTech de l'année

Ce Trophée est décerné à la FinTech qui a apporté les pratiques les plus innovantes aux services de la banque et de la finance. Le lauréat aura démontré une utilisation originale et efficace de la technologie ou des pratiques innovantes pour créer : de nouveaux modèles commerciaux évolutifs ; des produits et services de haute qualité et abordables ; un accès plus rapide et plus inclusif aux services financiers pour les clients ; une amélioration de la sécurité et de la fiabilité des transactions.

Banque socialement responsable de l'année

Le Jury recherchera des exemples concrets de projets et d'initiatives au sein des institutions qui ont eu un impact durable sur les communautés auxquelles elles s'adressent. Le Trophée est destiné aux organisations qui vont au-delà de l'utilisation philanthropique des fonds pour utiliser leurs connaissances, leurs ressources et leur réputation pour améliorer la vie des moins favorisés de la société.

Banque africaine des PME

Ce Trophée est décerné à la banque qui a contribué de manière significative au développement du secteur des PME, contribuant ainsi à la construction de l'épine dorsale économique du continent. Il aura considérablement catalysé le financement du secteur privé et encouragé le développement des entreprises en facilitant le crédit et l'accès au financement pour les SEM. Ils auront élargi les lignes de crédit axées sur les PME, en fournissant une assistance technique aux institutions de développement des PME et en renforçant les capacités des PME grâce à des programmes de liaison avec les investisseurs.

Deals de l'année - Energie

Ce Trophée sera attribué au deal qui a eu l'impact le plus significatif. Le Comité prendra en considération la complexité du deal, sa taille, sa structure et le rôle de pionnier qu'il a pu jouer. Le deal peut fournir un modèle pour des transactions futures et aura mis en évidence de nouvelles possibilités et solutions.

Deals de l'année - Agriculture

Ce Trophée sera attribué pour le deal qui a eu l'impact le plus significatif. Le Comité prendra en considération la complexité de l'accord, sa taille, sa structure et le rôle révolutionnaire qu'il a pu jouer. Le deal peut fournir un modèle pour des transactions futures et aura mis en évidence de nouvelles possibilités et solutions.

Trophée Carrière Exemplaire

Ce trophée est décerné à un banquier africain qui, tout au long de sa carrière, a travaillé sans relâche pour renforcer et promouvoir la banque ainsi que le rôle du secteur des services financiers sur le continent africain.

the winner of this category will be chosen by the Awards Committee

Ministre des Finances de l’Année

Ce Trophée est décerné au ministre africain des Finances qui a mené des politiques macroéconomiques prudentes et, à travers ses réformes et ses actions, a fait preuve de compétence et de dextérité pour créer les conditions d'un climat d'investissement attractif.

the winner of this category will be chosen by the Awards Committee

African Banker Icon

Le Trophée «Banker Icon» est décernée à une personne pour sa contribution exceptionnelle dans le domaine des affaires, de la banque et de la finance. Ils sont choisis par le Comité pour l'excellence dans leur domaine d'expertise et pour leur travail en contribuant à changer la perception de l'Afrique et en contribuant à l'établissement des meilleures pratiques mondiales sur le continent. Ce Prix a été décerné par le passé à des personnalités exceptionnelles telles que le Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Adebayo Ogunlesi et Eleni Gabre-Madhin.

the winner of this category will be chosen by the Awards Committee

Gouverneur de la Banque Centrale de l’Année

Ce Trophée est décerné au gouverneur de la banque centrale qui a réussi à réformer et à transformer le secteur financier, grâce à une réglementation et à des politiques appropriées, ainsi qu'à créer un environnement stable et prévisible pour l'investissement et la croissance.

the winner of this category will be chosen by the Awards Committee

Les juges

Notre jury indépendant, composé de spécialistes possédant une vaste expérience dans les différentes régions d’Afrique.

Rebecca Enonchong

PDG

AppsTech

Zemedeneh Negatu

Président

Fairfax Africa Fund

Tom Minney

Éditeur

African Council Markets News

Toyin F Sanni

PDG

Emerging Africa Capital 

 

Jean-Louis Ekra

Membre du conseil

British Globeleq Group

 

Vivien Shobo

PDG

 FVS Advisory Partners

 

Alain le Noir

Cofondateur

Club des banques et établissements financiers africains

 

Christopher Hartland-Peel

Principale

Hartland-Peel Africa Equity Research

 

Nos sponsors

La cérémonie virtuelle de 2021

fr_FRFR

Our Sponsors

2021 Winners!

About the Awards

The African Banker Awards are a landmark annual event for African banking taking place during the annual meetings of the African Development Bank. Organised by African Banker magazine and IC Events in co-operation with BusinessinAfrica Events, the African Banker Awards celebrate excellence and best practices in African banking.

Recognising the 400 personalities and banks that are driving Africa’s rapidly transforming financial sector, the African Banker Awards bring together industry leaders from Africa and the world. They celebrate the achievements of those who are driving growth and development and creating new economic opportunities for citizens and communities all over the continent and inspire new generations of bankers whoare shaping Africa’s future.

When


25th May 2022

Where


Kempinski Accra, Ghana

The Awards Categories

Our categories highlight the achievements of companies and individuals that contribute to the transformation and development of Africa’s financial sector. They focus on areas important to the finance community and their stakeholders. We review our categories every year to ensure the Awards remain relevant and take into account the changing realities on the ground. 

This year the committee will continue to put an emphasis on the AfDB’s High 5s. The committee will pay greater attention to criteria such as financial inclusion, access to credit and to institutions that are leading the way in terms of women empowerment through lending to women-led businesses and also by the number of women in positions of seniority within their institutions.

African Banker of the Year

Through their leadership and vision, the winner will have overseen strong financial performance within their organisation and will have successfully guided their institution to new heights in the industry.

African Bank of the Year

This award goes to the bank in Africa that has demonstrated a high performance across various metrics. It will have considerably changed the banking landscape by reaching out to new customers, offering new services, adopting inclusiveness by bringing the unbanked into the banking space, making use of new technologies, and helping to drive growth through a stronger financial sector

DFI of the Year

This award goes to the Development Financial Institution which has demonstrated a high performance across various metrics, both qualitative and quantitative. It will have supported clients, projects and delivered high impact during these unprecedented times.

It will also have considerably changed the development finance landscape by investing in impact-led projects and contributed to the sustainable economic development of the continent.

Regional Bank of the year

This award goes to a bank operating either across a specific region or in one country within a region (North, East, South, West or Central Africa). The winner will have excelled in the banking industry in its region by reaching out to new customers, offering new services, adopting inclusiveness by bringing the unbanked into the banking space, making use of new technologies and contributing to a stronger financial sector.

Infrastructure Deal of the Year

This will be awarded for the deal which has had the most significant impact. The committee will take into consideration the complexity of the deal, its size, its structure and the groundbreaking role it may have played (ie ‘replicability’). The deal may provide a template for such future transactions and will have highlighted new possibilities and new solutions within the sector or industry it relates to.

Deal of the Year - Debt

This winning deal may provide a template for such future transactions and will have highlighted new opportunities and raised country sector or regional investment profiles, or some other innovation in debt deal financing within Africa.

Deal of the Year - Equity

The winning deal will have highlighted new opportunities and raised sector or regional investment profiles. The judges will consider the size, complexity and impact in terms of changing perceptions of Africa as a place to do business.

FinTech of the Year Award

This award goes to the FinTech hat has brought most innovative practices to the financial services industry. The winner will have demonstrated original and efficient use of technology and/or innovative practices to provide: new, evolving business models; high quality and affordable products and services; faster and more inclusive access to financial services for customers; improved security and reliability of transaction services.

Sustainable Bank of the Year

The panel of judges will be seeking concrete examples of projects and initiatives within the institutions that have had a sustainable impact on the communities they are geared towards. The award is aimed at companies that go beyond the philanthropic use of funds to use their overall knowledge, resources and reputation to improve the lives of the less advantaged in society.

SME Bank of the Year

This award goes to the bank in Africa which has significantly contributed to the development of the SME sector, thus helping contribute to building the economic backbone of the continent. It will have considerably catalysed funding into the private sector in Africa and promoted enterprise development by facilitating credit and access to finance for SEMs. They will have done so by expanding SME-focused lines of credit, providing technical assistance to SME development institutions and built SMEs’ capacity via linkage programmes with private sector investment.

Energy Deal of the Year

This will be awarded for the project which has had the most significant impact. The committee will take into consideration the complexity of the project, its size, its structure and the groundbreaking role it may have played. The deal may provide a template for such future transactions and will have highlighted new possibilities and new solutions within the sector/industry it relates to

Agriculture Deal of the Year

This will be awarded for the deal which has had the most significant impact. The committee will take into consideration the complexity of the deal, its size, its structure and the groundbreaking role it may have played. The deal may provide a template for such future transactions and will have highlighted new possibilities and new solutions within the sector/industry it relates to.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award goes to an African banker who throughout his or her career has worked tirelessly to strengthen and promote banking as well as the role of the financial services sector on the African continent.

the winner of this category will be chosen by the Awards Committee

Finance Minister of the Year

This award goes to the African minister of finance who has carried through prudent macro economic policies and, through reforms and his or her actions, has shown skill and dexterity to create the conditions of an appealing investment climate.

the winner of this category will be chosen by the Awards Committee

African Banker Icon

The ‘Icon’ category is awarded to an individual or institution for their outstanding contribution in the field of business, banking and finance. They are chosen by the awards committee, who will have noted excellence in their area of expertise and for their work in helping to change the perception of Africa as well as contributing to the establishment of best global practice in the continent. This award in the past has been given to outstanding individuals such as Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, who needs no introduction, Adebayo Ogunlesi, one of Wall Street’s most eminent financiers, and Eleni Gabre-Madhin, founder of the Ethiopian Commodities Exchange.

the winner of this category will be chosen by the Awards Committee

Central Bank Governor of the Year

This award goes to the central bank governor who has successfully reformed and transformed the financial sector, through proper regulation and policies, as well as created a stable and predictable environment for investment and growth.

the winner of this category will be chosen by the Awards Committee

Awards Judges

Our independent expert judging panel with extensive expertise across the African regions will then select the winners based on a number of specific criteria from the shortlist. The winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony

Rebecca Enonchong

CEO

AppsTech

Zemedeneh Negatu

Global Chairman

Fairfax Africa Fund

Tom Minney

Editor

African Council Markets News

Toyin F Sanni

GCEO

Emerging Africa Capital 

 

Jean-Louis Ekra

Board Member

British Globeleq Group

 

Vivien Shobo

CEO

 FVS Advisory Partners

 

Alain le Noir

Co Founder

Club des banques et établissements financiers africains

 

Christopher Hartland-Peel

Principal

Hartland-Peel Africa Equity Research

 

Our Sponsors

Past edition

en_GBEN_GB