african banker logo

The annual

African Banker



African Banker Awards,
Celebrating excellence and best practices in African banking.

A landmark annual banking event

The African Banker Awards are designed to recognize the reforms, rapid modernisation, consolidation, integration and expansion of Africa's banking and financial system. The Awards Ceremony will be held at the Marriott in Nairobi, Kenya on the 28th May 2024.

2024 Nominees

    Banker of the Year

  1. Admassu Tadesse - Trade and Development Bank
  2. Anel Bosman - Nedbank
  3. Karim Awad - EFG Holding
  4. Miriam Olusanya - Guaranty Trust Bank
  5. Patricia Ojangole - Uganda Development Bank
  6. Serge Ekue - Banque Ouest Africaine de Développement
  7. Sidi Ould Tah - Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa

    Bank of the Year

  1. Afreximbank
  2. Ecobank
  3. KCB Group
  4. Rawbank
  5. Trade and Development Bank Group
  6. Uganda Development Bank
  7. United Bank for Africa

    Sustainable Bank of the Year

  1. Absa Bank
  2. East African Development Bank
  3. Ecobank
  4. Nedbank CIB
  5. Standard Bank Group
  6. Trade and Development Bank Group

    DFI of the Year

  1. Afreximbank
  2. Banque Ouest Africaine de Développement
  3. East African Development Bank
  4. Kenya Development Corporation
  5. Trade and Development Bank Group

    Fintech of the Year

  1. Valu
  2. Flutterwave
  3. Inclusivity Solutions
  4. JUMO
  5. ProfitShare Partners
  6. Yabx Technologies

    SME Bank of the Year

  1. Co-operative Bank of Kenya
  2. East African Development Bank
  3. Ecobank
  4. National Bank of Commerce
  5. Uganda Development Bank Limited

    Deal of the Year - Debt

  1. 2 tranches valued at TZS 212bn and USD 73mn respectively - Absa - NMB Bank - Absa Bank Ltd
  2. $117 million The Globeleq Menengai Geothermal Power Project in Kenya - African Development Bank
  3. $1.82bn Project KaMa - Africa Finance Corporation
  4. $500m Brighter Life Securitization - African Frontier Capital
  5. $16bn Ghana Debt Restructuring - Hogan Lovells
  6. €774m Project Strada - UKEF backed loan to support FERA and the Republic of Senegal in its nation-wide road programme - MUFG Bank
  7. $775m Foschini Group Syndicated Funding Package - Standard Bank

    Deal of the Year - Equity

  1. $500m Airtel Uganda IPO - Absa Bank
  2. $100m BOAD Hybrid Bond - Banque Ouest Africaine de Développement
  3. $145m Affirma Capital Limited's acquisition of Copperbelt Energy Corporation - Pangaea Securities
  4. $1.1bn investment into Mopani Copper Mines plc by International Resources Holding RSC - Rothschild
  5. $200 million Meridiam's acquisition of controlling stake in Kipeto - Standard Bank

    Agriculture Deal of the Year

  1. Volcafe Limited $80m East Africa Borrowing Base Facility - Absa Bank
  2. Co-op Bank & Kenya Coffee Direct Settlement System - Co-operative Bank of Kenya
  3. $400m Evergrow For Specialized Fertilizers - National Bank of Egypt
  4. $692m Ghana Cocoa Board Pre-export Receivables Backed Trade Finance Facility - Standard Chartered

    Infrastructure Deal of the Year

  1. $203m Great Horn Investments Holding “GHIH” - African Export-Import Bank
  2. $1.762bn (of which $363m is the commercial tranche) Tanzania Railways, Government of Tanzania - African Export-Import Bank/Standard Chartered
  3. €350m Benin Project IROKO - African Trade Insurance Agency
  4. $352.4m Fiber Misr for Telecommunications & Information Technology (Benya Technologies) - Banque Misr
  5. $15bn Simandou mining and infrastructure project - Hogan Lovells
  6. $38m InfraCredit's Guarantee of Lagos Free Zone Issuance Fixed Rate Infrastructure Bonds - InfraCredit
  7. $461m Sukuk Issuance for construction and rehabilitation of critical road infrastructure - Stanbic IBTC Capital Limited

    Trade Finance Award

  1. Access Bank Nigeria
  2. Attijariwafa Bank (AWB) Group
  3. Bank of Africa (BOA/BMCE) Group
  4. Diamond Trust Bank Kenya
  5. First Bank Nigeria (FBN)

    AFAWA Bank of the Year Award - The nominees for this special category will be announced shortly.

2023 winners


Bank of the Year


Sustainable Bank of the Year

Nedbank, South Africa

DFI of the Year


Fintech of the Year

MFS Africa, South Africa

SME Bank of the Year

Caisse de compensation et de consignation, Tunisia

AFAWA Bank of the Year

Letshego Microfinance Bank Nigeria


Banker of the year

Ms Esther Kariuki - Co-operative Bank of Kenya

African Banker Icon

Miguel Azevedo, Citi

Lifetime Achievement

Mr. Hisham Ezz Al-Arab, Commercial International Bank

Central Bank Governor of the Year

Harvesh Seegolam, Bank of Mauritius

Minister of Finance of the Year

Hon. Enoch Godongwana, South Africa

Regional Banks

Regional Bank of the Year - North Africa

Bank of Africa

Regional Bank of the Year - East Africa


Regional Bank of the Year - Central Africa

Trust Merchant Bank

Regional Bank of the Year - West Africa

Vista Bank


Infrastructure deal of the Year

US$900m debt funding facility for Scatec Solar PV plus Battery Storage Project - Standard Bank

Deal of the Year - Debt

Harmony Gold Company syndicated multi-tranche, multi-currency, loan facility of US$400 million and R4 billion - Absa & Nedbank

Deal of the Year - Equity

US$298m Infinity Energy equity investment and Lekela Power acquisition - Africa Finance Corporation

Agriculture deal of the Year

US$78m funding facility for the Southern Oil Structured Commodity Finance Transaction - Absa

The awards sponsors

High Patron

Platinum Sponsor

Exclusive Cocktail Sponsor

Gold Sponsor

Gold Sponsor

Category Sponsor

About the awards

The African Banker Awards are a landmark annual event for African banking taking place during the annual meetings of the African Development Bank. Organised by African Banker magazine and IC Events in co-operation with Business in Africa Events, the African Banker Awards celebrate excellence and best practices in African banking.

Recognising the 400 personalities and banks that are driving Africa's rapidly transforming financial sector, the African Banker Awards bring together industry leaders from Africa and the world. They celebrate the achievements of those who are driving growth and development and creating new economic opportunities for citizens and communities all over the continent and inspire new generations of bankers who are shaping Africa's future.

28th May 2024

Nairobi, Kenya

african banker logo

The awards categories

The awards judges

Rebecca Enonchong

CEO - Appstech

Zemedeneh Negatu

Global Chairman - Fairfax Africa Fund

Tom Minney

Editor - African Council Markets News

Toyin F Sanni

GCEO - Emerging Africa Capital

Jean-Louis Ekra

Board Member - British Globeleq Group

Vivien Shobo

CEO - FVS Advisory Partners

Alain le Noir

Co Founder - Club des banques et établissements financiers africains

Christopher Hartland-Peel

Principal - Hartland-Peel Africa Equity Research